IWWG President participated in 2021 P4G Seoul Summit

The president of the IWWG, Evangelos Gidarakos, participated at the 2021 P4G Seoul Summit on Green Growth and Global Targets 2030.


18th International Waste Management and Landfill Symposium, 11 - 15 October 2021, Santa Margherita di Pula, Cagliari, Italy. Website

IWWG Russia and NIS Regional Branch: International Scientific Conference 2021

The IWWG Regional Branch for Russia and NIS is co-organizing the V International Scientific Conference "From Waste Management to Resource Recovery" to be held 2-3 Dec. 2021 in Perm, Russia.

ICLRS 2022

11th Intercontinental Landfill Research Symposium

June 2022, Wilmington, NC, USA.Website

IWWG Board

The IWWG Board is composed by a maximum of 20 members. It acts as the organisation managing body, coordinating and organizing the different activities. Click on the photos to learn about the individual motivation to join IWWG and to access a CV.



Prof. Evangelos Gidarakos
Technical University of Crete, GR


Prof. Anders Lagerkvist Prof. William Clarke

Prof. Anders Lagerkvist
Lulea University of Technology, S

(Past President)

Prof. Bill Clarke
University of Queensland, AUS

(President elect, Treasurer)

 Prof. Umberto Arena


Prof. Umberto Arena
University of Campania Luigi Vanvitelli, I

(Editor-in-Chief, WM)

Prof. Nicole Berge
University of South Carolina, USA

(IWWG growth concept)

Prof. Pinjing HeMarion Huber-Humer

Prof. Pinjing He
Tongji University, Shanghai, CN

(Editor-in-Chief, WM)

Prof. Marion Huber-Humer
University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna, A

(Coordinator young researchers)

Jurate Kumpiene

Prof. Cristina Trois
University of kwaZulu-Natal, RSA

Prof. Jurate Kumpiene
Luleå University of Technology, S

(Coordinator young researchers)

 Prof. Yasushi Matsufuji

 Howard Robinson
Prof. Yasushi Matsufuji
 Fukuoka University, JP

Howard Robinson
Phoenix Engineering, UK

(Coordinator young researchers)

Prof. Rainer Stegmann Susan Thorneloe

Prof. Rainer Stegmann
Hamburg University of Technology, D

(Coordinator SAP)

Susan Thorneloe

(Coordinator external contacts)

Raffaello Cossu

Prof. Raffaello Cossu
University of Padova, I

(Editor-in-Chief, Detritus)

Jan Slavik
University of Jan Evangelista Purkyně, Usti nad Labem, CZ

(Chair IWWG TGs)

Mario A. Gandini
Universidad Autónoma de Occidente, Colombia

Natalia Sliusar
Perm National Research Polytechnic University, Russia

Jae Young Kim
Seoul National University, Korea

Pierre Hennebert
INERIS, French National Institute for Industrial Environment and Risks

Muhammed Alamgir
Khulna University of Engineering & Technology, Bangladesh

New Board appointees are nominated by IWWG members. A vote on new appointees is taken at annual General Assembly. Candidates eligible for appointment to the Board are generally co-opted from current SAP members. The President is elected by a vote from the Board appointees.